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REINSTATEMENT FOR LICENSURE 

[Pursuant to MCA § 73-19-21] 
○   Request from Licensee in RETIRED status less than five (5) years 
○   Request from Licensee in RETIRED status more than five (5) years or INACTIVE 
 status. 
○   Request for Reinstatement under the Universal Recognition of Occupational 
 Licensing Act [Miss. Code Ann. §73-50-2 (2021)] from Licensee in RETIRED or 
 INACTIVE status in Mississippi and who wishes to return to Mississippi and meets 
 the following requirements: 
 ○   holds a current and valid license in good standing in another state and has held this license  
  in the other state for at least one (1) year; and 
 ○ the other state verifies that the applicant  met their education requirements, work   
  experience, examination, and clinical supervision requirements; 
 ○ has not committed any act in the other state that would constitute grounds for refusal 
  Suspension or revocation of a license to practice in Mississippi at the time the act was  
  committed, and the applicant does not have a disqualifying criminal record in Mississippi  
  under Mississippi law; and 
 ○ has not surrendered a license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to  
  your work in the optometry occupation in the other state; and 
 ○ does not have a complaint, allegation or investigation pending before the board in another  
  state that relates to unprofessional conduct or alleged crime; and 
 ○ pays the $400 annual license fee (or $200 prorated license fee if requesting reinstatement  
  July through December); and 
 ○ pays the $32.00 fingerprint-based background check fee (if inactive more than five (5) years); 
  and 
 ○ provides proof of a state-issued identification card; or 
  ○ a current Mississippi residential utility bill with the applicant’s name and address; or 
  ○ documentation of current ownership, or current least of a residence in Mississippi;  
   or 
  ○ documentation of current in-state employment or notarized letter of promise of  
   employment for his or her spouse; or 
  ○ any verifiable documentation demonstrating Mississippi residence. 
 If applying under UROLA, a temporary practice permit may be issued for a period of 365 days until 
 which time the individual must sit for and pass the MSBO jurisprudence examination.  The 
 fingerprint-based background check is required prior to issuance of a Temporary Practice Permit.  
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MCA § 73-50-2 (14)  It is important to note that any license issued under this section is valid only 
in Mississippi and does not make the person eligible to work in another state under a reciprocity 
agreement. 

 

 

Full Name 

Mailing Address City State Zip 

Email Address 

Phone – Office Phone – Cell Other 

Where Will You Be Employed? 

Date of Birth Social Security 
Number 

Do You Hold an Optometrist License in Any State? 

○ LICENSURE FEE __________ YEAR(S) RETIRED/EXPIRED X $400 = $______________ (Maximum $2000)

+ $15 LATE FEE = $______________ 

○ TWENTY (20) HRS OF CE’S  FOR EACH YEAR  EXPIRED (Maximum of 100 hours)  [MUST BE ATTACHED]

○ FEE ($32) REQUIRED FOR FINGERPRINT BASED BACKGROUND CHECK - ONLY AFTER RETIRED OR
EXPIRED FOR FIVE (5) YEARS OR MORE;  AND

○ MSBO JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION ($200 MS Resident; $300 Non-Resident) – ONLY AFTER RETIRED
OR INACTIVE FOR FIVE (5) YEARS OR MORE.

○ UROLA LICENSING FEE OF $400  [NOTE: any license issued under this section is valid only in Mississippi
and does not make the person eligible to work in another state under a reciprocity agreement.

   $ ________________________  Total Paid
Money Order/Cashier’s Check # _________________ 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 



Page 3 of 4 
 

State: License # 

 

Date Licensed Date of Loss of 

License 

Current License Status 

State: License # 

 

Date Licensed Date of Loss of 

License 

Current License Status 

Are you a citizen of the United States?      
If NO, attach copy of passport including work permit. 

Yes No 
 

Have you been convicted or found guilty of a crime in any state or jurisdiction, 
regardless of adjudication? 

Yes No 
 

 Is there any criminal charge now pending against you?  
(Do not include parking or speeding violations) 

Yes No 
 

Have you ever been a defendant in a court-martial? Yes No 
 

Have you ever been declared legally incompetent? Yes No 
 

Have you ever undergone treatment for the use of drugs, narcotics, or intoxicating 
liquors? 

Yes No 
 

Have you ever received treatment for any emotional disturbances, mental disorder or 
insanity that could impair your ability to perform optometry or any other licensed 
profession? 

Yes No 
 

Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) denied you 
a license or other credential to practice optometry or to practice any other licensed 
profession? If YES, YOU MUST provide a copy of the denial letter from the regulatory 
authority AND a letter of explanation. 

Yes No 
 

Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) granted 
you a license or other credential to practice optometry or to practice any other 
licensed profession?  

Yes No 
 

Have you ever held a license issued by the Mississippi State Board of Optometry? Yes No 
 

If yes, what was your license #:  When did 
your 
license 
expire? 

 

I have practiced for compensation in Mississippi during the term that my license was 
expired or retired?  

Yes No 
 

Why did you allow your license to expire? 

Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) disciplined 
you related to the practice of optometry or to the practice of any other licensed 
profession? (Such disciplinary outcomes include, but are not limited to, license 
restrictions, probation, fine, or reprimand.)  

Yes No 
 

Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) 
suspended, revoked, denied the renewal of, or required you to surrender your 
Optometry License or other credential, or your license to practice any other 
profession?  

Yes No 
 

Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license or credential in connection with or to 
avoid a disciplinary action by a regulatory authority? 

Yes No 
 

As an optometrist or other licensed professional, are you now or have you ever been a 
defendant in civil litigation in which the basis of complaint was for negligence, 
malpractice, or lack of professional competence?        

Yes No 
 

Is there currently pending against you in any jurisdiction a complaint against your 
professional conduct or competence as an optometrist?  

Yes No 
 



Page 4 of 4 
 

I confirm that I am in full compliance with Rule 8.1 in that I remain free of control and I 
shall not divide, share, split, or allocate, either directly or indirectly, any fee for 
optometric or therapeutic optometric services or materials with any lay person, firm or 
corporation, provided that this rule shall not be interpreted to prevent any optometrist 
or therapeutic optometrist from paying any employee in the regular course of 
employment. 

Yes No 
 

I confirm that I clearly understand that it shall be construed as a violation of this Rule 
8.1 for any optometrist or therapeutic optometrist to least space from an 
establishment, or to pay for franchise fees or other services, on a percentage of gross 
receipts basis. 

Yes No 
 

I confirm that my practice will be owned by a Mississippi-licensed optometrist or 
therapeutic optometrist and that every phase of the practice and the leased premises 
shall be under the exclusive control of a Mississippi licensed optometrist or 
therapeutic optometrist. 

Yes No 
 

If you answered “NO” to question 1 or “YES” to any of the remaining questions, please provide additional relevant information, dates, 
jurisdiction (state, county), offense, disposition, circumstances, medical practitioners who treated you or who were consulted (names & 
addresses). It will be necessary to direct each practitioner or facility who treated you to furnish the board with any information the board 
requests with respect to any such treatment. Attach to this application. 

 If you answered “NO” to any of the final three (3) questions, the Board has the right to request a copy of contracts, agreements, or any other 
documents which details your method of operation as well as a copy of floor plans, lease agreements , advertisements or any other 
documents required to validate compliance under the Mississippi Code Annotated §73-19-1 through § 73—19- 195. 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION 

I ____________________________________________________________solemnly swear 
under oath and affirm that if this application is accepted and I am granted a license to 
practice as an optometry in the State of Mississippi, I will obey the laws of this state and the 
rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Optometry (Board), and I will 
maintain the honor and dignity of the profession.  I also understand that Board approved 
CE hours for each year that I have not been in active status is required. 
It is understood and agreed that if I should fail to keep the above agreement or if I have 
made any false statements in this application, that: 
a)  My license may be suspended or revoked by the Board at any time.  
b)  I have read and understand the law and rules and regulations pertaining to optometry 
in the State of Mississippi.  
c)  I further understand that it is my responsibility to keep my license current and stay 
informed of any changes in the law, rules and regulations, and/or policy relative to the 
profession of optometry in this state.  
I further affirm that all statements in this application are true and correct. 
 

___________________________________          ___________________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant   Printed Name       

______________________________  _____________________________________________ 

Date      Mississippi License Number 
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