Thank you for your interest in practicing optometry in Mississippi.
It is required that you have taken and passed all parts, including the TMOD, of the exam administered by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry, to apply for a Mississippi Optometry license .
A completed application must be received thirty days prior to the exam date. An examination fee of $200 for in-state residents and $300 for out-of-state residents should be sent with the application. The State Board Exam is administered the second Saturday of January and July of each year ONLY.
The State Board exam includes the Rules and Regulations and the Mississippi Law. There is also a brief interview before the Board members.
Attached are an application and a checklist of requirements that are due thirty days prior to the test date.
If I can be of further assistance, please call at (601) 919-1343.
List of items that need to be mailed to the Board office to accompany the application.
Application for Licensure
The application, the Rules and Regulations, and the Mississippi Law can all be downloaded from this web-site